Scroll to content

Get In Touch / Accessibility

Search website
Montacute School

Montacute School

‘Where every moment is a learning opportunity’

Main Slideshow

Our Two Departments

Montacute is split into two departments:

  • Lower School  (EYFS, KS1 and 2) 
  • Upper School (Key stage 3,4 and 5) 


Occasionally a pupil may be placed into the Upper School early or remain in the Lower School for longer. This is determined after discussion of appropriateness of placement and with deep consideration of their learning needs.


The two departments follow the Montacute curriculum which is taught through themes to provide a highly engaging learning environment for each individual young person.

Every child is provided with their own communication system and encouraged to make choices in their learning and to become as independent as possible.

The Post 16 group follows a curriculum which supports the Preparation for Adulthood learning pathway.


In this way, we aim to support the needs of every child and young person in our school to develop and achieve to the very best of their ability.